Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (26) - TV Shows (8) - DVDs (2)

Gunhed japanese sci-fi Movie 1989

Posted : 1 year, 11 months ago on 8 July 2015 01:54 (A review of Gunhed)

Ofcourse if you see The name Alan Smithee as the Director of The film, usually 9 out 10 Will turn The Movie off and The Director Will thank you for it. And for those who dont know, Alan Smithee is not a real name, its a pseudonym or a code for a Director who was dissapointed at his work and requested to get his real name of the credit, and when i see Gunhed i can understand why.



Gunhed is a Japanese sci-fi action from 1989, as With special effect it looks great, but as a plot it is much mess and seem like The Editor was more playing With Movie then to make sense in The story.



Brooklyn is a Member pirate gang who all has a name That start With B. They find and Island That is rich With Old machines including The biggest war Weapon robot Gunhed. But when they arrive they get attacked by The machines That is still alive, later Brooklyn find a lonley female Ranger sgt. Nim and two children by The name Seven and Eleven. Now they team up to find a Way to leave the Island alive.



How does it hold up as a sci-fi Movie ?

It is well done special effect, and how to make The robots and the atmosphere look real, but The problem is the plot, it is too much of Mess of The editing, for example its never clear who is fighting who and why all The people are doing on the Island, therefore i can Only afford to give it 2/5



How does it hold as an action Movie ?

Well i must say, it is exiting to watch, alot of explosions and The Robot Gunhed is cool specially That he play baseball Music during his attacks. However due to The chloppy editing its hard to get interested in The action when there is no plot, 2/5



How does it hold as a Movie in general?

Its a guilty pleasure, and basicly thats all i can say, but Sadly i can Only give this Movie no more then 4/10 because when The plot is told With a big Editor mess then its impossible to take this Movie serious, sorry but Only 4 out of 10.



Sci-fi 2/5 action 2/5 plot 0/5 = 4/10

Music video


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Princess Blade 2001 Japanese Movie

Posted : 1 year, 11 months ago on 5 July 2015 12:54 (A review of The Princess Blade)

Princess Blade is a 2001 japanese Yakuza Samurai Movie That takes place in a near future With great stunt choreography by Donnie Yen, but after watching it a few times, one suddenly kinda lose interest in The Movie and don't want to see it again for a while.



Yuki is a family Member of The Takemikazuchi assassin clan, she assassinate people without questions, until one day she meet an Old man Kuka, who introduce her to The place where Yukis mother died. By heart breaking news Yuki learn That her mother was betrayed by Yukis clan leader and Yuki is The princess of Takemikazuchi. She Escape her clan, leave her darl world behind, there she meet a new friend Takashi, who is trying to find a Cure for his sick sister, but he also turn out to work for Wrong people too.



This Movie is very beautiful and so is The lead actress Yumiko Shaku, However as more The Movie goes through til the end it change to a mediocre sword fight movie, but That doesn't mean its a bad Movie, no no, it is Very intense and exiting film but not The strongest i have seen.



How does it hold as a action Martial art film?

Well its ok, choreography is well done, and its alot of sword and The actors and stuntmen do a great job With The choreography, but then it gets Old very quickly after you see a few scenes for a while, but its well done 3/5



How does it hold as a plot Movie ?

A script idea its brilliant, a Yakuza Samurai futuristic story is very welcome, but unfortunately they didn't pull it off in The film making, a little too much battle in the Forrest and The futuristic setting feels too much near present time, but still The story is heart feeling specially when Yuki is to find The truth about her mother 3/5



Also i Will say this though, i do have an idol crush on the actress who play The role of Yuki, Yumiko Shaku is very charming and likeable and bring some emotion into her role and did i mention she is very cute and beautiful? All in all about her i think she is The most beautiful actress i have ever scene in a Movie.



How is The Movie as a general?

The filming technique is beautifully, The setting is Nice but a little bit too much in The Forrest and The story plot is heart beating, However some choreography and scenes feels it doesn't hold up as a 10/10 Movie but belive me it was a 10/10 Movie when i first watch it but after watching it again i kinda sort start to lose interest in The film, unlike The other films i reviewed this Movie doesn't take me back to see this film again so i can Only afford to give this film a 6 out of 10....... Sorry!



Action Martial art - 3/5 plot 3/5 = 6/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Marriage Cuisine 2014 Chinese TV Series

Posted : 1 year, 11 months ago on 4 July 2015 01:15 (A review of Marriage Cuisine)

First of all, thank you to My cousins in Singapore who gave me this DVD for xmas 2014. Marriage Cuisine is a Chinese, South Korean, Hong Kong TV Series, it mix With drama comedy and romance. The cast is starred With an A-list Hong kong actors and actresses. The plot of this tv drama is about What happens if Somone break up their love too soon.



Meet Mrs Ar Chen, a female Masterchef in a five star hotel, who is Married to Mr Yang Shu, a chemist professor of medicine research. They have been Married for Twelve years and they have a daughter Tao Ze, however their marriage is far from being perfect. One day Yang Shu fail to attempt to his daughter opening at school, which make Tao Ze faint. Ar Chen is ofcourse frustrated That Yang Shu allways Put his family after his work and therefore divorce him. One year later Ar Chen find out that her former husband has become a Local celebraty due to an American experiment project is gonna be held in Beijing and Yang Shu is going to be The leader of the experiment and Co work with Professors from Asia and Europe. But thats no concern for Ar Chen, she is more focus to find Herself a new man, she manage to get three men, one tv celebraty who is obsessed With beautiful antiques, one Teacher who is a momas boy, and one psychologist who prefer to keep his pants on. Later on Ar Chen gets some 2nd thoughts about The divorce but Will she break her Pride and take him back? Or Will she break her heart and move on?



How does it hold as a drama?

Its a very strong drama With Colorful locations and heart feeling characters, every drama scene and persons in feel so close you can feel related to them, its not 100% though due to some Funny Music and comic relief that feels its not needed, but its very strong in drama, score 4/5



How does it hold as a comedy?

At most of The time it feels forced, for example when Ar Chens mother fight With her sister about a cat and that feels just a filler and unessecsary, but there are some Funny moments though special when Ar Chens manager is trying to fake a marriage With Ar Chens goofy friend is really Funny, all in all The series get 2/5 for comedy



How does it hold as a romance?

Well That feel also forced, Ar Chen date With The teacher feels suddenly rushed like What he is allready inlove With her? When? Also Tao Ze has date with a street kid, but their chemistry feels also like filler because they meet a short time then he Will leave and never come back and has nothing to do With The plot, but some romance are heart feeling for example Yang Shu heart breaking memories of Ar Chen, so its ok 2/5



Can this tv drama make it well internationally?

Yes absolutley, it feels like it is made for worldwide, not Only because of Co production With other Countries, its also very commercial With many Foreign advertise like Apples ipads, Toyota cars and absolut vodka, also you can hear Frank Sinatra songs in The background, and speaking of Foreign, Professor Yang Shu speak swedish With one of the european professors in his research lab is also a bonus for an worldwide audience, its obvious they attempt to make all audience feel like home, and for That it get one extra point.



As a tv series in general?

Its beautiful, an everyday tv drama but With beautiful colors and strong A-list actors help bring The series alive, Sadly i have not found this drama With english subtitle, My cousins are chinese and they give me imported dvd With none subtitles, you can find it in youtube but still no subtitle, i hope i see it soon in english, The final score is 9 out of 10



Drama 4 comedy 2 romance 2 plus one extra point = 9/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Romantic Blue Thai Movie 1995 review

Posted : 1 year, 12 months ago on 2 July 2015 12:40 (A review of Romantic Blue)

This review is not gonna be easy, first of all im not Thai nor can i speak thai, i got this Movie imported from Thailand without subtitle, but somehow despite My lack of knowledge in The language i fell inlove With this Movie and feel i want to introduce this movie to you lovley people in Listal.



Romantic Blue is a 1995 crime drama romance. Starring two famous thai pop singers during The 90s, the Movie was one of The most increasing Movie profit in Thailand and rewarded 4 thai awards in 1995.



The story is about Tao, a Young man who is a school drop out and a former car thief but now work as a car mechanic at his fathers workshop. One day he meet Nook, a beautiful girl and help her to open her car that her father forgot the keys inside. They start to date and get to know eatch other and eventually falls inlove secretly. However Taos younger brother goes in the same class as Nook and also falls inlove with her, now there are two brothers inlove with same girl. Unfortunately their father is sick and need surgery. However the hospital operation is too expensive and the brothers cannot afford the money, now Tao must go back to his Old roots and become once again a thief. He team up with a professional CB (Cat Burgular), however the CB turn out to be a real psycho and kill one of the security during the robbery. Tao dislike the CBs method and break the contract With him. Now CB put a personal Manhunt on Tao and his brothers. Will Tao ever break free from this madman or will he lose the love of his life?



How does this Movie hold up as a crime movie?

It is very intense and you can feel a heart beat of exitement, However the crime part doesn't take place until the near ending of the film, so the crime audience have to wait a little bit, but when it gets there its very exiting and gets 3/5



How does it hold up as a drama?

It hold up pretty well Thanks to charming and likeable characters, ofcourse the seriousness takes away a little bit due to somtimes over the Top comic revief scenes That doesn't feel neccesary but when it does get to serious drama you feel for the characters 3/5



How does it hold up as a romantic Movie ?

Sorry but here is the weak point of the Movie, and the sad part is that the romance is the main focus of the film but its played like two children falling inlove instead of Two almost adults falling inlove, the two leading roles mostly giggles and jokes and smile, not much hugging or kissing. 1/5



How is the Movie as a general?

All in all its very entertaining Movie, its beautiful 90s Thai pop Music help ease the mood and to watch this Movie is like a good experience of a Classic Thai Movie. I give this Movie a totally 7/10



CM 3/5 DM 3/5 RM 1/5 = 7/10



Oh one more thing, i Could not find the trailer but i hope you enjoy the Music video to this film performed by the leading roles


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Slam Dunk Japanese Anime 1993

Posted : 1 year, 12 months ago on 30 June 2015 05:13 (A review of Slam Dunk)

Slam Dunk is The anime That made start With basketball, but its not a typicall sport anime, its an anime filled with humour, romance, blood sweat and tears both inside and outside The basketball field.


The plot is about young Sakuraki who has been dumped by a girl for the 99th time and he is ofcourse heart broken. That is until a young sweet innocent girl name Haruko introduce him to a basketball team Shohoku. Haruko san is kind and gentle and help Sakuraki to find his talent in basketball. Sakuraki falls inlove with Haruko and join the team to impress her, but to play basketball is more difficult then expected, and it gets more difficult when there is a rival for Harukos affections by the ace player Rukawa, and also the team leader Gori is Harukos brother.



How does Slam Dunk hold up as a sport anime?

Perfectly, not only you see good basketball matches, you also get lectured how the rules are working in the basketball game, watch and and learn !



How does it hold as a drama?

Very well, all matches are intense (specially the match Shohoku vs Shoyo) and there is also personal problems the players have to deal with outside the field (for example some player are former gang member and some players suffer with a difficult injury)



How does it hold as a comedy?

It is amasing, and embarrassing, specially when the players have an arguement and their faces and bodies change to little monkeys, and humour is so funny i cannot describe it, Takeshi Kusao who do the voice of Sakuraki is awesome with his crazy Hyena laugh naaaahaaahaahaa



How does it hold as an Anime?

Beautifully, these people put alot of hard work on their drawing, and they must have had a fun time while they were working on the plot.



How does it hold as a Movie in general?

To be honest it is impossible to not like it, I watched it since 1995 and i still cannot stop watching it, the humour and drama and the love for basketball is well mixed and even if somone does not like basketball it is still easy to enjoy Slam Dunk, its My 2nd review and Im pleased to give it a full 10/10

I give it now a basketball point count, sport 2 point, comedy 2 point, drama 2 point, anime 2 point and in general 2 point = 10 out of 10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Resistance 2011 Chinese Movie Review

Posted : 2 years ago on 22 June 2015 10:14 (A review of The Resistance)

2013 I bought a Movie dvd from Amazon called The Resistance, and I loved this film, and I still love it today, now I'm going to make a review for you about this film.....



The Resistance is a 2011 chinese american action/adventure movie, mix with martial art, ninja, world war 2, and drama. The movie was also screened at Cannes film festival at 17 may 2012.



In 1937 Japan occupied China. 3 years later after the "Rape of Nanking" incident, a mysterius assassin (known as the Black Dress Killer) arrive to the city of Shichen to assassinate the Japanese General (who has the control over the city). A group of Chinese Resistance Members manage to rescue a Foreign Journalist (who is on a mission find proof of the war crime that is comitted in China) and this troubles the Japanese General. In response he give the citys inhabitant a choice to eather reveal who the Black Dress Killer is or die.



The Movie has beautiful locations and color mix, and played as a Classic Samurai film art. But is it a War Movie or a Samurai movie? Actually it's both (more or less). The opening of the movie contain a few documentary films and side scrollings of What was happening during the time of WW2 China, then the movie start playing as typicall Shinobi No Mono movie, for example:

1. A small village That is occupied by an evil Samurai clan (in this Movie they are The Japanese Army)

2. An unknown assassin comes to seek revenge (in this Movie The avenger is a Chinese Ninja)

3. A group of pesants accidently rescue an outsider (in this Movie, The Foreign Journalist)

4. The evil clan leader (in this Movie, The Japanese General) gets an unplesant visit from The evil Emperor who wants to see if the clan got control over the village (in this Movie the evil Emperor is a German Nazi)

5. The set has alot beautiful houses and palaces from a Samurai time line (eventhough the timeline take place at 1940 during world war II)



How does it hold as a War Movie ?

Unfortunately it's not much as War Movie, its more of a War movie time line but it's played as a Samurai movie. There are a few elements that can satisfy a War Movie lover but also it has some CGI effect that can remove the WWII feeling and can take away the reality of the Movie. So as a war movie it get a score 2 out of 5.



How does it hold as a Ninja Adventure Movie ?

Yes, this Movie belongs in this kind of genre. It is played as a Samurai or ninja film. It has all the five points as I mentioned for a good ninja movie and to play it in a world war II time line and replace the Classic Shinobi Movie characters from 18th century With early 20th century Japanese army, chinese secret resistance group and Nazis from 1940 is brilliant. Wich I don't think has been done before, and for those who love these kind of movies and are ninja fans should be entertained by this Movie, the score is 5 out of 5



As a Movie in general?

It has its flaws (but then again wich Movie hasn't?) and some hardcore War Moviefans might find this Movie out of place. However a true adventure lover or ninja fans or those who are intrested in history and new beautiful locations and don't mind the mix of world war II and Samurai movies Will be pleased. A ninja action Shakespeare story in world war II.



So the final score is 7 out of 10: WM 2/5 NM 5/5 = 7/10

Trailer



1 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2 3 4Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block