Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (40) - TV Shows (10) - DVDs (3)

Returner, a 2002 sci-fi action film from Japan

Posted : 4 years, 4 months ago on 28 November 2015 11:54 (A review of Returner)



Returner, a sci-fi action thriller movie that borrow movie elements that was popular in sci-fi movies in the 80s. A full mix of Terminator and matrix and Independence Day movies.



As a child, Myamoto witnesses his good friend be abducted by the ruthless child smuggler Mizoguchi. 20 years later he chase after Mizoguchi to make him pay for what he did. But when he finally succeed to find Mizoguchi, he also stumble on Milly, a young girl who came from the future, to prevent a world desctrucion that will happen in year 2002. At first Myamoto don't believe her but when he find out Mizoguchi is involved then he team up with Milly to save the world from an unknown invasion.


How does this movie hold up as a sci-fi?
Sadly, this movie borrow too many elements from other sci-fi movies, time machine to save the future from Terminator, invasion from Independence Day some matrix action and a little borrows from ET, but all the stunts and action is well executed and the adventure is exited so for sci-fi action it gets 3/5


How does the movie hold as a plot movie?
Yes, on the plot is where this movie succeed better, all the character are well portrayed by all actors and actresses, including Anne Suzuki who was only 15 at the time when she played Milly and do a great job for her age. However there is one minus for the plot and that is unnecessary comedy put in, when it's totally serious most of the time suddenly a comedy scene is put in is really take of the exitetment a little, but it's still a great plot so 4/5


How is this movie in general?
Very exciting action movie with a great cast and crew, but with a lot of elements that is easy to recognize from other movies doesn't make this movie a masterpiece but a great film all in all, total score 7/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lady Assassin 2013 Vietnam movie

Posted : 4 years, 4 months ago on 21 November 2015 08:22 (A review of The Lady Assassin)



Lady Assassin is a Vietnamese action film with the same title as the classic Hong Kong 80s movie but not the same story, when I saw this movie I found it ......odd, perhaps one of the most odd movies I have seen from asia so far.


A bunch of thieves stays at a tavern that served by 4 prostitutes, but what they don't know is those prostitutes are well trained assassins, they kill all thieves and take their gold, but this time the thieves has stolen Phu Giang aq princess of a lost family, at first the women don't like her, but after some time she learn their martial art and become one of them, but why was Phu Giang kidnapped in the first place, and why is she determind to stay with the women, it soon reveal Phu Giang has a dark past.


How does this movie hold as a plot movie?

Nothing new, it's quite odd and don't know where they were aiming for, a lot of secrets that makes no sense, a lot of sex humour that feels forced, too many weak casts and the unnecessary 3D effect, it's sad that the industry start lose ideas so they try to bring back that was once a bad idea, and this movie is no exception, the 3D is used to push things into audience face and it feels unnecessary, and did I mention the cast is weak? Well they are not bad just not convincing specially when all girls are played by models and all guys are odd balls looking, with better cast and less 3D maybe I would have been more convinced, but I'm not so 1/5


How does movie hold as martial art?

Much better then the plot but that doesn't say much, although what I can say is that the fight choreography is well done, and mix with beautiful landscape but the fight ideas is too much stolen from many Hong Kong Kung fu movies and the ball kicking sport is too much to drag the movie to over 1:30 hour movie. But it's well done action so 3/5


How is this movie in general?

Nothing but a guilty pleasure, and that's all I can say, although I have to admit it did put me in a good mood sometimes and it has good action, but the movie is butchered because of the 3D so I can't afford to give it more then 4/10


Plot= 1/5 action= 3/5 total= 4/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Shall We Dance ? Japanese 1996 drama movie

Posted : 4 years, 4 months ago on 21 November 2015 06:43 (A review of Shall We Dance?)

Shall we dance a Japanese drama from 1996 is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen, and I thank my girlfriend to force me to sit down and watch it, it's the movie inspired the Richard Gere movie with the same title from 2004 and also explains the beauty of the black pool dance contest. 



Shohei Sugiyama is tired of his boring life, every day go to office, every day just go home to wife and daughter and nothing happens, until one day he see a mystery woman watching over her window, he get curious, and go to see her place. Her name is Mai Kishikawa, she is a pool dance expert and trainer, when Shohei observes her lessions he find the dance art interesting and started to learn, more he dance more he love it, this makes me him late for work and late to go home, this concerns his wife and hire a detective who give her odd news, he is not unfaithful, he is........just dancing.


How does this movie hold as a romantic drama movie?

Well it's not much of a drama, it's more romance for the black pool dance contest, of course there are some moments of humour, and some moments of serious drama, one thing I don't understand though is: why is he bored with his wife and daughter? In the Richard Gere movie version his wife was rude and it was understandable that he wanted to get away for a while, but in this movie his wife is kind and she is understandable so why is he tired of his life with her makes no sense? And this is a huge flaw in the movie that they treated his wife badley, and therefore I can only give it 3/5.


How does it hold as a dance movie?

Spot on, they nailed the beauty of Blackpool dance contest, you can feel the creator put a lot of heart to for the dance, the movie explains the rules and how the dance should be done and also brings a lot of curiosity of the Blackpool dance, if you don't know what the Blackpool dance is then don't worry because you will learn thanks to this movie, and every actor put a lot of feelings when they dance so you can feel the love so the score here is totally 5/5


How does this movie hold as a movie in general

Despite its flaws and despite how I hate how the leading role treat his wife, I looked at my girlfriend and she like the film and was satisfied and that was good enough for me, plus it gave what it promise a lot of dance and did a good job with that with bringing a lot of beauty and strong feeling to it, what the American movie failed that's what the Japanese movie succeeded, to make me interested in black pool dancing, total score 8/10

Drama/romance = 3/5, dance comedy = 5/5, total = 8/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

RPG Real Playing Game 2013 Portugal Movie Review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 12 August 2015 05:01 (A review of RPG)

Sorry, now I am breaking My own rule! When i Came to Listal.com i was thinking to make reviews and introduce everybody here Asian movies That i wish everybody to watch. But this Movie is Unberliveble so i had to make a review out of this. RPG is a sci-fi futuristic thriller from Portugal That is about Old men and Women who do anything to be forever Young including Killing a total stranger. And to be honest this Movie is The worst Movie i have seen both how its made and story telling, eventhough they casted one of The best actors in the world Rutger Hauer is not enough to save The Movie.



Steve Battier is a humantarian computer expert and dying of Old age. He get invited to a RPG project That stands for Real Playing Game. The project is about 10 Old peoples Brain Will be transfered to a computer memory where they be in Young new Bodies, The Only catch is they can't stay in The Young Bodies forever, they have to kill The other players and the one and Only winner Will get the price to be forever Young. Steve agree to this project and his Brain get transfered to his new Young body. But when he wake up, he see nothing but a ruin building and he has lost all his memories. He later meet the other 9 players who doesn't know who they are, then a hologram message from the game keeper explain That the memory loss is part of the game. The reason why is because the game Only last 10 hours and one must be killed each hour or the game Will kill one itself, the catch is one must get enough knowledge of who The person is That they are gonna kill and after The kill they Will press The name of the person they think they have killed, but if they press the Wrong name they Will be killed too. And it get worse to know who is who because in game there are 5 men and 5 women, but in reality there are 6 men and 4 women. The clock is ticking, who will be The one and Only to be forever Young?



How does this Movie hold up With or without Rutger Hour?

With? Everything, without? Nothing. First of all all The money for the Movie seems to be extended just for Rutger Hauers scenes, because when all his scenes goes, it looks fantastic, well done CGI, and interesting characters just for his scenes, but then when The actual game begin and he get transfered to his new body, suddenly The whole look of the production change from cool cinema feeling, to pocket money video camera shooting on The weekends. The game is suppose to be in Portugal in ruins but its just one building in ruin, and it feels like its the Only building The Director Could afford to shoot, and it looks extremly cheap, like school kids who find an Old turned down building and desided to play in There and film while their playing. I don't mind
Pocket money Movie exept That i have to pay to see them, why do i have to spend money on a Movie That spended their profits on two scenes?



How does the Movie hold as a story telling and Movie in general?

Not even as a story it works, ofcourse at first i thought it was interesting That the 10 players has to guess who is who before they can make the kill, and the players are actually Old Brains inside Young Bodies, but its poorly executed and the characters are typicall Horror characters cliché. For example in Battle Royale Movie all the characters were demonstrated What Will happen if they don't kill and That made the situation scary, but here in RPG they just say you have to kill to win and they are all like hmmmm ok then. I mean they don't even get a demonstration of What Will happen if they don't kill because in this Movie everyone is trigger happy. Plus there is some sex scenes Put it just as filler, and all characters speak english With thick european accent, and i shouldn't complain because i also speak english With a very thick accent but even for me its strange i mean why not have the Movie be in portugese? All in all most movies you can forgive for a Nice try but this is not even a nice try, its just done easily and it should be free for audience to watch.

I can Only give this Movie 2/10 mostly for Rutger Hauer scenes


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Triple Tap 2010 Hong Kong Movie review

Posted : 4 years, 7 months ago on 12 August 2015 04:06 (A review of Triple Tap)

When watching Triple Tap The first time it feels like a masterpiece but after watching it again it feels like a mediocre action thriller cop Movie. Released in 2010, Triple Tap is a Hing Kong Movie That brings a thrilling story about Greed and Betray.



Kwan is a banker, Chong is a police detective, they compete in a shooting range cup. Kwan defeat Chong With a Triple Tap shot and win The tournament. However on his Way home he accidently drives into a middle of a robbery attempt on a money transfer truck, there is also a police man who try to handle The situation, but it get out of hand, The police man is fired down and Kwan use his shooting skills against The robbers as self defense. Thats What he tells The police, the police buy his story exept detective Chong who belive there is more to it everytime he connect The dots, and his hunch tells him maybe its not self defense but a planed murder.



How does it hold as an Hong Kong action Movie?

In My opinion its one of The best from Hong Kong or shall I say an action cop live That has a story, most Hong Kong movies nowadays are like Hollywood, alot of special effect or just kung fu 100% and 0% story telling, here its more focus, its The first time in a HK movie I feel for the characters, and The story is well Put. But its not a full five due to it is easy to know whats going on, and The ending feels a little over doing, but it is very thrilling when you see it The first time.



How does it hold as a Movie in General?

This is an absolut recomendation for all crime thriller lovers, ofcourse its more thrilling to see it first time and maybe The 2nd time you might lose The interest because you know the story, but still its a good Movie all in all, and its Nice to see a HK Movie That allow The audience to think instead of JUST DO IT movies



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Street Fighter V 1995 Tv Series Japan Review

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 14 July 2015 07:57 (A review of Street Fighter II: V (1995- ))

Street fighter V is a great series that is sort of an prequel to The exellent Movie Street fighter the Movie. Made in 1995 at the SF Prime time and live up to the SF status very well but don't know if its a PG 13 or rated R series ?



Ryu, a japanese vagabond and Martial art master get an invitation by his Old friend Ken Masters to visit him in America. While there Ken take Ryu to a sightseeing around NY but then they get into a bar fight with Guile, a US Army Man who use to be a street fighter. After Gulie defeat both of them Ken and Ryu deside that their Martial art is not strong enough and therefore they deside to travel around the world to challenge the best figthers, including Fei Long a Hong Kong Star, Sagat a prisoned muy thai fighter, Dhalsim a mystery man from India, and Balrog a psychopath bull fighter from Spain. They also team up with Chun Li a daughter to the Interpol leader, together they go to an adventure more dangerous then expected.



How does it hold as a action, adventure, drama series?

Its well done animated With the action choreography That keeps you up on your seat, its very exited, every adventure the character goes to is a thrill. But there is one gap I have to mention. The series seems to have a hard time to know if its a PG 13 or a rated R series. Some episodes feel goofy and unserious then it suddenly change to more serious and almost over bloody episode, but don't worry That doesn't make it a bad series, it may be unbalanced and not The best, but absolutley one of The greatest series of all time, 3/5



How does it hold as an anime ?

As allways, japanese anime is beautiful. However in this case because of The unbalanced plot it seems The animators didn't know what level they would anime the characters, somtimes they look like goofy characters then change to more serious characters. And also it's wierd that both Ken Masters and Ryu are 17 but they look like they are at their early 20s, the Only one who look like an 18 year Old is Chun Li and she is suppose to be 15 (hum What?). And one more nitpick is Charlie Dash, he is suppose to be a Gulie Look alike (well according to The street fighter alpha games) and he is suppose to be well trained Martial art, but here he looks nothing like Guile, he is older and beardy, and seems not very skilled (well to be fair, both The alpha game and this serie was made in The same year so That explains that they didn't know) but part from That The anime is good specially on The action scenes so 3/5.



One bonus point !

The Music is wow so besutiful, i love The japanese pop, and its easy listening songs like Cry from The legendary group Chage&Aska plus The other songs like lonley babey, and forever friend. One extra point for That !



How does it hold as a serie in general ?

A guilty pleasure and it keeps you on your seat With exitement, great action, exiting adventure, cool characters, and great story despite somtimes goofy.



Total 7/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Monster japanese anime tv series review

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 13 July 2015 03:43 (A review of Monster)

Monster is an exiting adventure Horror tv series made in 2004, The story though take place in 80s East Germany, to 90s F.R. Germany with beautiful Classic style of animation.



Dr Tenma is a japanese top ranked surgeon in East Germany. Despite his status and despite he is getting Married with his boss daughter, Tenma dislike The hospital Priority of patients That has a status or money. One day a young boy and his twin sister is rushed to The hospital and the boy need surgery quickly. The boss says no because Tenma need to do surgery on the Prime minister. Tenma ignore The orders and do surgery on the boy instead. Years later and East Germany and west Germany has become one but Tenmas life has turned to worse, a several murder has happened including Tenmas boss, and when Tenma discover who is The murderer he get shocked. It is the boy he rescued who is now full grown and has become a psychopath killer, he is no longer a boy and he is not a man but a monster.



How does it hold as a drama adventure and Horror Serie?

It's very heart feeling story, and when Tenma search for The murderer you feel for him, you understand The pain he goes through, specially That he is The one who rescued him. However somtimes The plot goes a little too long, for example some episodes Drags to some unnecessary characters, and some plots in some episodes feels just as a filler to make it a long tv series. Most tv series seems to fall for that I mean is it really a sin to have a tv serie just 12 episodes instead of over 100? Anyhow That is a small nitpick, but its all in all a good plot so 4/5.



How does it hold as an anime?

Wonderful, and brilliant, you can feel The 90s eventhough it was made in 2004, they Took alot effort to find What typicall 90s like The phones The tv all That, and also how europe changed from 80s and 90s, no mistake here 5/5



And how is it in general?

Im no Horror fan but this is more of a thriller then Horror and interesting story

Despite some episodes feel like too long, it still keep you going till The end



Total score 9/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gunhed japanese sci-fi Movie 1989

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 8 July 2015 01:54 (A review of Ganheddo)

Ofcourse if you see The name Alan Smithee as the Director of The film, usually 9 out 10 Will turn The Movie off and The Director Will thank you for it. And for those who dont know, Alan Smithee is not a real name, its a pseudonym or a code for a Director who was dissapointed at his work and requested to get his real name of the credit, and when i see Gunhed i can understand why.



Gunhed is a Japanese sci-fi action from 1989, as With special effect it looks great, but as a plot it is much mess and seem like The Editor was more playing With Movie then to make sense in The story.



Brooklyn is a Member pirate gang who all has a name That start With B. They find and Island That is rich With Old machines including The biggest war Weapon robot Gunhed. But when they arrive they get attacked by The machines That is still alive, later Brooklyn find a lonley female Ranger sgt. Nim and two children by The name Seven and Eleven. Now they team up to find a Way to leave the Island alive.



How does it hold up as a sci-fi Movie ?

It is well done special effect, and how to make The robots and the atmosphere look real, but The problem is the plot, it is too much of Mess of The editing, for example its never clear who is fighting who and why all The people are doing on the Island, therefore i can Only afford to give it 2/5



How does it hold as an action Movie ?

Well i must say, it is exiting to watch, alot of explosions and The Robot Gunhed is cool specially That he play baseball Music during his attacks. However due to The chloppy editing its hard to get interested in The action when there is no plot, 2/5



How does it hold as a Movie in general?

Its a guilty pleasure, and basicly thats all i can say, but Sadly i can Only give this Movie no more then 4/10 because when The plot is told With a big Editor mess then its impossible to take this Movie serious, sorry but Only 4 out of 10.



Sci-fi 2/5 action 2/5 plot 0/5 = 4/10

Music video


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Princess Blade 2001 Japanese Movie

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 5 July 2015 12:54 (A review of Shurayukihime)

Princess Blade is a 2001 japanese Yakuza Samurai Movie That takes place in a near future With great stunt choreography by Donnie Yen, but after watching it a few times, one suddenly kinda lose interest in The Movie and don't want to see it again for a while.



Yuki is a family Member of The Takemikazuchi assassin clan, she assassinate people without questions, until one day she meet an Old man Kuka, who introduce her to The place where Yukis mother died. By heart breaking news Yuki learn That her mother was betrayed by Yukis clan leader and Yuki is The princess of Takemikazuchi. She Escape her clan, leave her darl world behind, there she meet a new friend Takashi, who is trying to find a Cure for his sick sister, but he also turn out to work for Wrong people too.



This Movie is very beautiful and so is The lead actress Yumiko Shaku, However as more The Movie goes through til the end it change to a mediocre sword fight movie, but That doesn't mean its a bad Movie, no no, it is Very intense and exiting film but not The strongest i have seen.



How does it hold as a action Martial art film?

Well its ok, choreography is well done, and its alot of sword and The actors and stuntmen do a great job With The choreography, but then it gets Old very quickly after you see a few scenes for a while, but its well done 3/5



How does it hold as a plot Movie ?

A script idea its brilliant, a Yakuza Samurai futuristic story is very welcome, but unfortunately they didn't pull it off in The film making, a little too much battle in the Forrest and The futuristic setting feels too much near present time, but still The story is heart feeling specially when Yuki is to find The truth about her mother 3/5



Also i Will say this though, i do have an idol crush on the actress who play The role of Yuki, Yumiko Shaku is very charming and likeable and bring some emotion into her role and did i mention she is very cute and beautiful? All in all about her i think she is The most beautiful actress i have ever scene in a Movie.



How is The Movie as a general?

The filming technique is beautifully, The setting is Nice but a little bit too much in The Forrest and The story plot is heart beating, However some choreography and scenes feels it doesn't hold up as a 10/10 Movie but belive me it was a 10/10 Movie when i first watch it but after watching it again i kinda sort start to lose interest in The film, unlike The other films i reviewed this Movie doesn't take me back to see this film again so i can Only afford to give this film a 6 out of 10....... Sorry!



Action Martial art - 3/5 plot 3/5 = 6/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Marriage Cuisine 2014 Chinese TV Series

Posted : 4 years, 9 months ago on 4 July 2015 01:15 (A review of Marriage Cuisine)

First of all, thank you to My cousins in Singapore who gave me this DVD for xmas 2014. Marriage Cuisine is a Chinese, South Korean, Hong Kong TV Series, it mix With drama comedy and romance. The cast is starred With an A-list Hong kong actors and actresses. The plot of this tv drama is about What happens if Somone break up their love too soon.



Meet Mrs Ar Chen, a female Masterchef in a five star hotel, who is Married to Mr Yang Shu, a chemist professor of medicine research. They have been Married for Twelve years and they have a daughter Tao Ze, however their marriage is far from being perfect. One day Yang Shu fail to attempt to his daughter opening at school, which make Tao Ze faint. Ar Chen is ofcourse frustrated That Yang Shu allways Put his family after his work and therefore divorce him. One year later Ar Chen find out that her former husband has become a Local celebraty due to an American experiment project is gonna be held in Beijing and Yang Shu is going to be The leader of the experiment and Co work with Professors from Asia and Europe. But thats no concern for Ar Chen, she is more focus to find Herself a new man, she manage to get three men, one tv celebraty who is obsessed With beautiful antiques, one Teacher who is a momas boy, and one psychologist who prefer to keep his pants on. Later on Ar Chen gets some 2nd thoughts about The divorce but Will she break her Pride and take him back? Or Will she break her heart and move on?



How does it hold as a drama?

Its a very strong drama With Colorful locations and heart feeling characters, every drama scene and persons in feel so close you can feel related to them, its not 100% though due to some Funny Music and comic relief that feels its not needed, but its very strong in drama, score 4/5



How does it hold as a comedy?

At most of The time it feels forced, for example when Ar Chens mother fight With her sister about a cat and that feels just a filler and unessecsary, but there are some Funny moments though special when Ar Chens manager is trying to fake a marriage With Ar Chens goofy friend is really Funny, all in all The series get 2/5 for comedy



How does it hold as a romance?

Well That feel also forced, Ar Chen date With The teacher feels suddenly rushed like What he is allready inlove With her? When? Also Tao Ze has date with a street kid, but their chemistry feels also like filler because they meet a short time then he Will leave and never come back and has nothing to do With The plot, but some romance are heart feeling for example Yang Shu heart breaking memories of Ar Chen, so its ok 2/5



Can this tv drama make it well internationally?

Yes absolutley, it feels like it is made for worldwide, not Only because of Co production With other Countries, its also very commercial With many Foreign advertise like Apples ipads, Toyota cars and absolut vodka, also you can hear Frank Sinatra songs in The background, and speaking of Foreign, Professor Yang Shu speak swedish With one of the european professors in his research lab is also a bonus for an worldwide audience, its obvious they attempt to make all audience feel like home, and for That it get one extra point.



As a tv series in general?

Its beautiful, an everyday tv drama but With beautiful colors and strong A-list actors help bring The series alive, Sadly i have not found this drama With english subtitle, My cousins are chinese and they give me imported dvd With none subtitles, you can find it in youtube but still no subtitle, i hope i see it soon in english, The final score is 9 out of 10



Drama 4 comedy 2 romance 2 plus one extra point = 9/10



0 comments, Reply to this entry